Home > Environment, Uncategorized > Have Some Humility – Shut Up for Haiti!

Have Some Humility – Shut Up for Haiti!

I’m the first person to find a way to complain about my life, my job, my earnings, my house, my boat (or lack thereof), my summer home (or lack thereof), and on and on and on.  I’m getting better about that, though.  I think to some extent that comes with age, maturity, and self-confidence.  Isn’t it crazy, though, how perspective changes every thing?  Have you been paying attention to what’s going on down in Haiti?  Have you seen the images of destitute, death, destruction, helplessness?  It is unbelievable to me that in this age we have parts of this world that suffer these conditions.  And I’ve lived in India.  What makes this even more f’d up is when I come into the office and hear someone complaining about their job.  Are you kidding me?  You HAVE a job…and a paycheck…and a house…with electricity…and running water…and most likely your health.  WTF are you talking about?  Take a moment and really think about it…seriously.

So I propose that the rest of January is Shut up for Haiti Month.  Work really hard to stop complaining about your job for just two more weeks.  Recognize how lucky you really are.  And save everyone else from your ignorance of what really matters.  And although I’m a sympathetic and empathetic HR guy, if you complain over the next two weeks, I’m not listening.  PASS IT ON!  #ShutUpForHaiti

  1. January 14, 2010 at 11:58 am

    I’m in.
    I guess that means I have to be more positive in The HR Junkyard as well.
    But it can be done.

    Great post, Charlie – and dead on.

  2. jkjhr
    January 14, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    Amen.

    Told someone this in an e-mail yesterday but thanks for putting it on a broader scale.

    Like tl said, great post.

  3. Jennifer
    January 14, 2010 at 1:21 pm

    I like it! Ok, here goes nothing…

  4. January 14, 2010 at 3:12 pm

    We all complain and accept others complaining as a matter of course. Then a major tragedy strikes and reminds us of how good we have it. Perspectives & priorities change……for a while…..and then the memories fade…..and your job still sucks and your feet still hurt…..and you haven’t taken a vacation in two years.

    In my ideal world we would check our complaints at the door everyday without needing a catastrophic reminder. In my ideal world I wake up every day remembering how good I have it and that it can change in a flash. We all know what really matters but forget how easily it can be taken away.

    Kudos to you for writing this post. I’m going to subscribe to your blog because you use the word “pansy” and tell people to shut up.

  5. January 14, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    I like, “Shut up for the love of god.” That never works, so SHUT UP FOR HAITI would be okay.

  6. January 15, 2010 at 1:55 am

    I’m in, too. I just had a crap day at work and this perspective couldn’t have been more timely. (Well, that along with a nice glass of wine.) Thanks for the reminder to get my mind right. I will drink my big glass of STFU for the next couple of weeks and think of you!

  7. January 15, 2010 at 10:43 am

    Glad everyone is on board!

    @Tammy old HR still needs to go somewhere to die and http://www.junkyardhr.com/ is still the place…

    @jkjhr great minds

    @jennifer hang in there – it’s not that hard!

    @Fran thanks for the thoughtful comments. honored you’ve subscribed. “pansy” is such a great word when used outside the context of horticulture…

    @Laurie baby steps

    @Teresa our crap days pale by comparison…don’t they? i’ll raise that glass with you.

  8. January 16, 2010 at 10:06 am

    Great idea – I’m on board. If we’re lucky, maybe the change will “stick,” and we’ll grow some perspective that lasts. It’s a big ask, I know, but a guy can dream….

  9. January 16, 2010 at 10:12 am

    Perspective changes nothing… yet changes everything.

    Absolutely. I’m in… let’s run with this until we’ve forgotten Haiti and need to shut up for the next thing.

    Better yet, let’s run with this and never forget Haiti.

  10. January 16, 2010 at 11:16 am

    Charlie-I could not agree more. In fact just the night before, a friend of mine was whining again about their job. And I told them to shut up; it’s not like you live in Haiti. The next morning you posted this. I love it.

  11. January 16, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    @kentropic perspective is great, but it’s ohhh so short lived. i hope it can stick too.

    @jason it’s too bad we even need these things to put us in our place. we all run around in our small small worlds. a little multi-cultural indoctrination would be a good thing…

    @pasmuz great minds

  12. January 16, 2010 at 7:22 pm

    Well said! I really think that this experiment in discipline and self-control is great. Life is short, so live it to the fullest. When I catch myself in a moment of complaining, I think to myself, there is always someone,somewhere worse off than me.
    So Let’s all Shut Up for Haiti,and do what we can to help. AMEN!

  13. China Gorman (@ChinaGorman)
    January 16, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    Hi Charlie. Brilliant post. You have a way of capturing the moment that I really appreciate. HRFishbowl is a must read!

  14. Rhana
    January 16, 2010 at 10:53 pm

    YES! Thanks for the balance – we are a culture of complainers, whiners and entitleds.

  15. Christa
    January 17, 2010 at 8:53 am

    I love this! Thanks you so much for this post. I’m forwarding it on and practicing it myself!

  1. January 16, 2010 at 6:45 am
  2. January 18, 2010 at 6:41 am

Leave a Reply

