Home > #TrenchHR > Time to Share the Love (Better)

Time to Share the Love (Better)

I’ve really enjoyed the last four months of blogging.  I love to write and it’s been a real catharsis for me during what has been a challenging time.  As most of you know, I actually have a full-time job as an executive with a mid-sized public company.  We’re in the midst of Chapter 11, but have worked very hard to restructure our balance sheet and are very close to emerging from all of this in much better shape than we’ve ever been.  It has been an exhausting year, but I am more excited about our future and my role with the organization than I’ve ever been.  And I’m really excited about dedicating much more attention to our future…

HR Fishbowl was starting to “get legs.”  With hits and subscribers increasing consistently and some pretty good external validation (F.O.T. Top 25), the momentum was exciting…and the prospect of bigger things was enticing.  But I’m kind of an all-or-nothing guy; my alliances have started to blur and I’m beginning to feel a bit torn about my ability to truly focus on everything my day (and night) job demands.

I’m going to keep blogging.  I will continue to dedicate myself to 1) the simplification of Human Resources, 2) the promotion of #TrenchHR (hearing more in the blogosphere from people who actually practice HR in a corporate environment) and 3) good ole’ fashioned debate about the caring and feeding of people in the workplace.  But I will do all of these things a bit more intermittently.  So…

Don’t give up on me, keep coming back, and subscribe.  Just be patient with me because we have 1,000 employees who need love too!

  1. Steve Browne
    March 1, 2010 at 11:35 am

    Charlie – Great to hear from you !! In fact, I was about to write you to see how you were. I love your post today and the perspective it lends because it gives your blog even more “life”.

    Being one of your #TrenchHR people, I will definitely stay connected and continue to promote your good work.

    The fact that you’re stripping down our profession is right where I live and love to find others who share that sentiment.

    Now . . . get back to those employees !!!

  2. March 2, 2010 at 7:00 am

    Interesting synchronicity here, as the past few weeks have also shown me the difficulty of balancing blogging with a “real job”. I empathise greatly with the pressures. Chin up!

  3. March 2, 2010 at 7:22 am

    Charlie, I think you’re experiencing what we all go through from time to time. Since our day job HR life is like a roller coaster, there are always going to be times we have to step a little bit back from the blogging. What I’ve learned is that your readers and followers will stay right here with you. We’ve got your back.

    So, reach out for those guest posts from “Trench” HR pros, post once in awhile yourself, and most importantly, focus on the employees that need you. The REAL reason you do what you do. Best of luck my friend.

  4. March 2, 2010 at 9:44 am

    Thanks for the encouragement and support, all! Look forward to continued contact, dialogue, and fun. Take care!

  5. Robin S
    March 2, 2010 at 9:52 am

    Charlie – sounds like challenging and exhilarating times ahead for you in your “day job”. Now go share the love with your peeps; we continue to share it with you!

  6. Jennifer
    March 3, 2010 at 9:18 am

    Hi Charlie,

    I was starting to wonder where you were! Love your blog, so I’m looking forward to your next post.

    Good luck with everything at the day job!

    Jennifer

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

